Skip to content

the way the bones crumble

April 21, 2010

Today, I soooo want to explain my relationship with music. I want to expound upon how I fall in love with the songs though lyrics largely fostered by my father’s love for progressive rock (a.k.a. Pink Floyd). “Baby, hit me one more time”, doesn’t do it for me, AT ALL. The Beatles blow my mind and I want to see the Opera since I just found out most of them are subtitled. Because of Shazam (the program tags the song and identifies it for you) on my phone whenever a radio song’s beat catches my… well, it isn’t eye, I find I like Spanish music. It seems odd to have just discovered that, but it’s not really that spectacular since I can’t hear, ha. My body’s groove is telling me the Latin Beat is the way to go.

I also discovered something else just last night.

So instead of music, let’s talk about Bone Char…. animal bone char. ANIMAL BONE CHAR.

The point being, it’s used in the process of de-coloring sugar which is naturally light brown while raw. All this time as a vegetarian, I have been happily spooning in white table sugar into my coffee unwittingly. D-oh…. no wonder alternate labels mention “vegan” sugar. I always thought that was kind of funny… I am now swelling up from choking on my own fallacies.

The first image comes to mind is a headless, spineless, freak of a cow skeleton rooting and rolling around in a great vat of brown sugar. Apparently, they don’t use the spine or the head for the fear of mad cow disease. To think, all this time I thought my lunacy was just a sugar high.

Miss Daisy likes her sugar

Miss Daisy likes her sugar

A moan and a groan and a shrill wail, unheard by human ears but one that greatly disturbs the dogs next door, escapes me. The CFL blub flashes on slowly conserving energy but greatly illuminating the corners of my mind. Freaking-a….

  • When I go to bed tonight, now that I have Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder, will I break out in a cold sweat at the parade of trampling cattle feet approaching me in my dreams?
  • Do I go repent and flog myself in front of my Veggie God shrine?
  • Shall I just give up and do The Zoo Experiment for the rest of my life?
  • Is my life path flashing in ivory before my eyes, telling me… KNOW MORE, LEARN MORE, BECOME OMNIPOTENT, and study nutrition?

Bob Barker, I pick door number four.

For more in depth information on sugar and the source of my discovery:

The Small Bites Blog

One Comment leave one →
  1. Linda Vizzare permalink
    April 24, 2010 12:29 pm

    Thanks for the information. Now I am going to have nightmares! Door number four sounds like a good plan.

    replaced all the white sugar in the house yet?

    yes, door #4 has a good prize! i’m really considering nutrition school but will have to figure that out once Chase and I settle down later this summer. -Haley

Leave a Reply

