Skip to content

K-I-S-S-I-N-G leads to you and me.

March 10, 2010

Where could I possibly begin when I speak of the person I love the most in the world?
Right now we are at the bookstore using their free wi-fi and he is sitting in front of me waiting impatiently for me to finish. The joke’s on him for this is an ode.

We can't shut up.

Converstation along Lake Balboa, credit to Jinna, sister-in-law

He’s leaving next week Tuesday on a three month sojourn, frog-leaping across Europe. My roommate has been learning about positive life influences and “no changes, no butterflies” came up. Meaning, both, impacting change: one event leading to another, as well as inspiring eustress, a positive stress that results in the butterflies that reside in your gut. He’s going to make butterflies. He’s my Burtonfly.

There are times when I see him and I see just a man. But he is SUCH a man. A great one. He has dreams of creating visual stories with the art of filmmaking. He believes strongly in happiness. In private times, we are the best of friends. He listens to me when I don’t say a word. And at the same time I am continually surprised by his presence out in the world. People are at ease around him with his gentle manner and charm. I’ll go as far as to say he’s one of the most popular people I know. I’ve seen him speak in public a few times and he is so very clearly a man of promise and poise. These different dimensions of him always intrigue me.

We will finally live together again (the first time was in Australia for 5 months) after he arrives back in the States. But it’ll be our first time utterly alone, without roommates and I’m so looking forward to that chapter with him. To bookend his trip, we’re meeting up in New York and driving back west… we’ll be determining where to settle on the trip. It’ll be a spontaneous combustion of choice. NYC? AUSTIN? Who knows.

I want to end this with my second-rate imitation of the Burton Chasing Happiness Dance. This is a dedication to the goofy side of him that I know oh so well. Sorry, honey. The world must bear witness to your gems.

Chase Burton, I love you and I’ll miss you dearly. Until we meet again, don’t get stabbed in Spain, robbed in Greece, beat in Germany, pissed in Britain, or drowned off the coast of Italy, return to me safely and hopefully your idea bag will be full for a-writing.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2010 5:20 am

    Seriously move to Arizona, c’mon! You’ll regret it if you don’t. 😉

    I’m excited to see what the future holds for you two….especially before you & Chase become famous and direct movies.

    Do another video of “my balls are bigger than yours” lol.

    Hee, ok, I’ll add Arizona to my list of possibilities. I’m excited for the movies too, I’ll be the one bringing coffee. Maybe I should turn this blog into purely a vlog of “Haley Does Random Dances”

  2. March 10, 2010 5:27 am

    What a sweet and loving post! Thanks for sharing.

    thank you for listening. 🙂

  3. Jinna Kim permalink
    March 10, 2010 7:54 pm

    What a great and intimate note. It was great having you guys over and I’ll see you Sunday.

  4. nans permalink
    March 25, 2010 12:25 pm

    🙂 i heart you both.

Leave a Reply

