Skip to content

the monkey punched me in the face

October 28, 2009

Pop goes the neck. Ahh, say I. Much better, I can move now. I tell my boyfriend, I feel so much better. Why? He asks. I get so tight and all I have to do to relieve the tension is a slight lean and a turn. Stop! He says.

Dear me, why? It feels so good. Arthritis is in your future, he reveals. What!? Did you read my palm from here? I request, while covering my tea cup and its leaves. No, he reassures, my mother, who is a wonderful nurse, says chronic popping is bad for you. My hands flutter to my mouth with resounding NO! I love the weasel in my neck. We are friends, the neck weasel and I.

I flash back to a conversation I had with my mother on the deck, she came back from the doctor and shares with me she’s been diagnosed with a mild case of arthritis in her neck. I grew up being constantly annoyed with my mother’s never-ending hand-to-chin grab and a quick push in the car, during a movie, even dinner. She is a chronic neck popper. My eyes widen, I’ve turned into my mother! I can prevent this now.

Must. Stop. The. Weasel. Advice for a Popping Addict

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2009 5:52 pm

    gotta luv that entry :] i often pop our knuckle bones in different ways. i picked it off from my older brother, i got to say. then later, i realized that it isn’t good, especially arthritis. it all boils down to habit. whenver i’m bored, nervous, or antsy, i would pop my fingers. so i found a new habit (not so good habit, still), and it is to peel off my fingernails. it grows back on and i don’t get arthritis in near future.

    • October 29, 2009 11:15 am

      thats how it works, replace a habit with another, just make sure it’s better. ripping off my fingernails has never been fun for me, to each their own, heh.

  2. October 28, 2009 11:42 pm

    You’ve turned into your mother way before now. 🙂 I miss your massages!!

    I popped my neck today at work and my co-worker gasped and said that was loud. Um ok? Pfft.

    • October 29, 2009 11:17 am

      i really should go to massage school. but my wrists have been hurting- me thinks i have CT. lol, no more popping the weasel, steph!

  3. November 28, 2009 7:20 am

    Pop goes the weasel!

Trackbacks

  1. back at it and boring review « Frolicking for life is but a dream

Leave a Reply

