Skip to content

oktober ooze

October 26, 2009

I shouldn’t complain about the weather. Especially when it boasts of blue sky and sunshine in October. Wearing a tank and flip-flops, I sit in this coffee shop and mope. I mope because this weather just stinks literally. When I walk outside, my nose crinkles. This phenomenon started after SoCal had a period of an appropriately chilly and brisk wind with rains. Rains that haven’t been here since June. I was delighted, especially since I could see the Santa Monica mountains without a white cloak of smog. The rain came and washed the dirty windows, then the sun came out. I couldn’t put my finger on it, but something was stinky in the state of Denmark. Decay and just a slightly unpleasant odor was clinging off the tip of my nose. Josh suggested it was much like the Blight in the Wheel of Time, a landscape made of death and carnivorous trees that will explode digestive juices at a touch and digest you that way. Yes… that’s it. The vegetation around me is dying as the daylight hours shorten and the heat only cooks that decay. That’s it. Flowers in their final throes of bloom, now lay limp and when the nectar meets sun, it smells like under-showered ancient  who doused herself in perfume. Ay, me. The life of a sensitive nez is a hard one.

 

BTW, the first of the Wheel of Time series, The Eye of the World by Robert Jordan is out as an ebook. Sweet.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2009 9:10 am

    Beautifully written!

    I’m excited it’s going to drop to 60 degrees tomorrow but then will go back up to 80’s so whatever at least for a day will do for me!

    • October 28, 2009 1:45 pm

      thanks, hon. you’re so supportive, it makes me feel gud.

Trackbacks

  1. back at it and boring review « Frolicking for life is but a dream

Leave a Reply

